Silver Winds Flute Quartet


...beautiful music for any occasion

     News & Events

Upcoming Performance

Sunday, October 11, 2020


The Arts Partnership Salon Party 

Online Event

For more information visit:

Please support local art and help us celebrate The Arts Partnership's 50th anniversary! Make a gift of $50 or more to The Arts Partnership and get exclusive access to the link for the Salon Party. 

We will be performing  our commissioned work by Jonathan Campbell, Dakota Summer: Scenes from the Prairie. More information about the piece can be found below.

In 2015 we commissioned Jonathan Campbell to compose a new piece of music for us. With themes of the northern prairie, our Scandinavian roots, and using a variety of flutes, Jon composed his first flute quartet, Dakota Summer: Scenes from the Prairie. The 9-minute work for mixed flute quartet evokes moods, feelings, and imagery of a hot summer day, as well as the musical depictions of a Sunday prayer, a barn dance, and a silent cemetery. Dakota Summer has been published and can be purchased on the Theodore Presser Company's website.  


We are so proud to have recently received a music grant from The Arts Partnership and Jade Presents! The funds from this grant will go towards a program of Celtic flute music featuring percussion, dancers, a singer, and fiddler. Stay tuned for the release of this project!


                  Jonathan Campbell, Composer & Conductor

Jon Campbell received his B.A. from Luther College, Decorah, IA in 1998 with a music major. At Luther, he sang in the Nordic Choir for three years, and studied conducting with Weston Noble.

In 2002, Jon completed a Master of Sacred Music degree from Luther Seminary, St. Paul, MN, where he studied choral conducting with Anton Armstrong and church music with Paul Westermeyer. Jon conducted the Honors Choirs of S.E. MN Chorale for eight years, and served at several Lutheran churches as music director. In 2015, Jon received a D.M.A. in choral conducting from North Dakota State University.

In 2007, Jon published his first composition with Augsburg Fortress, and has continued to publish with Concordia Publishing House, G.I.A., and Morningstar Music. In 2012 Jon won first prize in the Morningside College Composition contest with his anthem They That Go Down to the Sea in Ships, and in 2013 he was awarded a Faith Partner’s residency through the American Composer’s Forum in Fergus Falls, MN.

Dakota Summer is his first composition for flute quartet, and can be purchased from the Theodore Presser Company here.

Visit Jon's website for more information and to hear recordings of his compositions.

           The Silver Winds Flute Quartet      Copyright 2019      Fargo, ND 58103      701-241-9127